Towing capacity for a Opel Crossland
Opel Crossland : SUV urbain, built 2017. 2 engines listed, braked towing capacity : 840 kg (1,852 lb). Always check the V5C logbook before towing.
| Engine | Fuel | Towing capacity | Compatibility |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1.2 Turbo 130 ch BVA6 | essence | 840 kg (1,852 lb) | — |
| 1.2 Turbo 110 ch BVM6 | essence | 840 kg (1,852 lb) | — |
Opel Crossland (compact SUV, from 2017): according to the official Opel technical data, this model has a braked towing capacity of 840 kg depending on the chosen engine. See the table below for each version. Always check your V5C logbook before towing.
Opel Crossland 1.2 Turbo 130 ch BVA6
Opel Crossland 1.2 Turbo 110 ch BVM6
Vehicle info
- Vehicle type
- SUV urbain
- Number of doors
- 5
- Years
- 2017
- Listed engines
- 1.2 Turbo 130 ch BVA6, 1.2 Turbo 110 ch BVM6
Not the right car?
Opel Crossland towing capacity : the practical guide
The Opel Crossland belongs to the SUV family, a body style that combines a raised driving position with the structural rigidity needed for towing. Its higher ground clearance and longer wheelbase typically give a more stable behaviour with a caravan than a compact saloon. Across the 2 listed engines, figures vary depending on transmission and gearbox.
Opel Crossland towing capacity in one line
Across the 2 engines listed, built 2017, towing capacity is 840 kg (1,852 lb), with a manufacturer maximum braked towing weight of 840 kg (1,852 lb). Take the lower of those two figures and you have the real limit, before factoring in your gross train weight.
The engines listed cover petrol. Pick the one whose maximum braked towing weight clears your loaded trailer by a real margin, not just on paper.
Gross vehicle weight, gross train weight and payload
Gross vehicle weight (GVW) is the maximum laden weight of the car alone : 1,770 kg (3,902 lb) to 1,835 kg (4,045 lb). Gross train weight (GTW) is the maximum laden weight of the whole outfit : not disclosed for the listed versions, check the V5C logbook. Payload (GVW minus kerbweight) sits at not disclosed for the listed versions, check the V5C logbook, the share you can use for passengers, luggage and the towbar noseweight.
What to check on the V5C of your own Opel Crossland
- Field F.1 / F.2 : maximum laden weight (GVW). The figure on your logbook is the only one that legally applies to your car.
- Field F.3 : gross train weight (GTW). Compare it to the published values above to spot a discrepancy.
- Field O.1 : maximum braked towing weight. Sometimes lower than the manufacturer brochure if your car was originally fitted without a towbar.
- Field O.2 : maximum unbraked towing weight. Capped at 750 kg in most cases.
What licence do you need to tow with a Opel Crossland?
If you passed the UK car driving test on or after 1 January 1997, you can now tow a trailer up to 3,500 kg MAM with a standard category B licence: the rules changed in December 2021 and the separate car-and-trailer (B+E) test was scrapped. Drivers who passed earlier usually keep grandfather rights. As a stability rule, less experienced drivers should keep the loaded caravan weight to no more than about 85 % of the car kerbweight, especially on motorways and in crosswinds. Always check the V5C logbook and the manufacturer plate before hitching up.
FAQ
What is the gross vehicle weight of the Opel Crossland?
The gross vehicle weight of the Opel Crossland is 1,770 kg (3,902 lb) to 1,835 kg (4,045 lb).
How much can the Opel Crossland tow?
The Opel Crossland can tow up to 840 kg (1,852 lb) depending on the engine.
Can you tow a caravan with a Opel Crossland?
Yes, within its towing capacity of 840 kg (1,852 lb). Compare it with your caravan loaded weight (MTPLM) before buying.
What licence do you need to tow with a Opel Crossland?
In the UK, drivers who passed the car test on or after 1 January 1997 can tow a trailer up to 3,500 kg MAM on a standard category B licence (the rules changed in December 2021 and the separate car-and-trailer test was scrapped). Drivers who passed before then usually keep larger entitlements. Always check the V5C logbook and the manufacturer plate.
Compiled and maintained by Jérémy Vaucher · last update 9 Jun 2026 · sources and method